Home      Members List      Register Now!

Go Back   SB&H Forum > Hydrocephalus Community > Connect with others

Old 05-25-2005, 08:30 PM
fdarby

Default Malfunctioning Shunt

SUBJECT MATTER or KEY WORDS: <BR><BR>Communicating Hydrocephalus<BR>High CSF Levels in the Cranium<BR>Raised Intracranial Pressure<BR>Lumbar Punctures<BR>Sixth Nerve Palsy <BR>Subarachnoid Cysts<BR>Shunts<BR>Neurology<BR>Neurosurgery <BR><BR><BR>I am a retired electrician but I have experienced something over the last few months that may be helpful to a lot of doctors and patients.<BR><BR>I am writing this letter and putting it on the Internet to help doctors, patients and the parents of patients understand a particular neurological condition that as far as I know, has never before been described or evaluated. If this new information can help one patient it will be worth the time and effort it takes to write this letter.<BR><BR>In the beginning of November 2004, my 22 year-old son experienced a terrible headache. At that time he was enrolled in his final class for a degree in Computer Engineering at a large prestigious university. He reported to the emergency room of a well-respected hospital, where they gave him pain medication progressing up to IV Demerol and then morphine. <BR><BR>The pain continued, and when his intracranial pressure went too high he experienced “Sixth Nerve Palsy” in both eyes. Finally he was given a spinal tap or lumbar puncture (after he was hammered by Sixth Nerve Palsy) and it was discovered that his cranial pressure was over 400 mm rather than the normal 130 mm.<BR><BR>When my son was 7 years old it was discovered that he had a large subarachnoid cyst. It was decided that this cyst should be drained and he underwent neurosurgery. A shunt tube was inserted into his cyst and a valve was placed under the skin behind his right ear, and his shunt tube vented in his peritoneum. This was later modified with a new valve and tube when he was 9. After his first and second surg