Home      Members List      Register Now!
Old 01-21-2004, 11:24 AM
catarina

Default Head Circumference

My daughter has now 7 months old and I am very worried about her head circumference evolution:<br> <br> born: 34.5 cm (percentile 50);<br> 2 months: 39.5 (percentile 75);<br> 4 months: 42 (percentile 75);<br> 6 and half months:44.5 (perc. 90);<br> 7 months: 45 (percentil 95).<br> <br> Weight and Height are at Percentil 50.<br> <br> She looks healthy and happy, with normal development (she is meeting all her milestones), soft spot is still open but looks ok.<br> <br> Does this match with hydrocephalus symptom?<br> <br> Thank you for your support.<br> <br> Catarina<br> <br>
Old 01-23-2004, 03:48 AM
Banned

Hi,

I'm not a doctor, just a 19-year-old with hydrocephalus.* However, I can tell you about my experience as a baby.* Apparently, my head got big, but my parents didn't notice because they saw me every day.* My pediatrician was the one to wave a red flag.*

If your daughter is healthy and happy (not crying all the time cause of possible headaches or something), then she might be fine.* Also, you didn't mention her eyes, which is a good sign.* When I was a baby, I got "sunset eyes", common with hydrocephalus.* It's when your eyes appear really wide all the time--and I do mean really wide, noticeable.* My parents used to call me "spooky" because they thought it was just a funny face I was making.* Anyway, that indicates a pressure build-up caused by the*spinal fluid.

Trust your instincts, but keep in mind that some babies--and people--just have big heads. *

Michelle*

Old 02-02-2004, 03:20 PM
catarina

Hi Michelle<br> <br> Thank you for your reply. My daughter has made a scan and everything is just fine. As you said "some babies just have big heads..."<br> <br> I wish you all the best.<br> Catarina* <br>
Old 03-29-2004, 09:14 PM
AnnaD